Home Education Did You Know? Local businesses offer many scholarships for Cobb students

Did You Know? Local businesses offer many scholarships for Cobb students

Saving for child education / student loan, financial concept : Depicting money or asset pay for knowledge program

Local businesses award thousands of dollars in scholarships every year to Cobb County students. Presented here is a condensed list of what’s available from local companies and business associations. While some of these awards already have been distributed this year, take note for your students who are graduating next year. Also, be sure to consult with your school counselors for additional scholarship opportunities.

Cobb EMC – Cobb EMC will award $85,500 in scholarships this year. It is the largest amount of money the electric co-op has ever awarded in a single year. The scholarships break down as follows: A total of $14,500 is being awarded to six students in amounts ranging from $500 to $4,000 for the George Ford Scholarship. A single student has earned the $1,000 Walter Harrison Scholarship. And 14 deserving students each will receive $5,000 from the Cobb EMC Community Foundation Scholarship program. Visit cobbemc.com for more info. This year’s Cobb EMC scholars are as follows:

George Ford Scholarship:

  •  Pierce Rossman – $4,000
  •  David Latting – $3,500
  •  Ishaan Chaubey – $3,000
  •  Danielle Gonsoulin – $3,000
  •  Harrison Fish – $500
  •  Chris Porch – $500

Walter Harrison Scholarship:

  •  Noah Fornuto – $1,000

Credit Union of Georgia – This company offers many scholarships each year through partnerships with other organizations such as the West Cobb Business Association (WCBA) and the Marietta Schools Foundation (MSF). For instance, CUofGA awarded $500 in April to a deserving student at the WCBA Annual Scholarship Luncheon. Its partnership with MFS awards $1,000 to a chosen student each year in an essay contest (reflecting “How #DoYouCU making a difference?”). The company also recently donated over $1,100 as a Featured Supporter of Kell High School this year. And a perk to being a member of CUofGA is having access to its Scholarship Search Tool Powered by SallieMae. Learn more at cuofga.org.

East Cobb Lions Club – The East Cobb Lions Club gives six, $1,000 scholarships to deserving high school students each year. The students must be graduating from Lassiter, Pope, Walton, Sprayberry, Wheeler, or Kell high schools, and they must be planning to attend a Georgia college or technical school. The students are heavily “graded” on their community involvement and service to others. Additional credit is given for curriculum, honors, awards, and GPA. This year’s recipients will be announced in May. Learn more at eastcobblions.club.

Kennesaw Business Association – Each year, the KBA and its members award multiple scholarships to local high school students, with honors for academics, sports, community service, and more. At a mid-April luncheon this year, KBA members and guests celebrated the following students as they prepare for college and beyond:

  •  Kevin Jabbari Athletic Scholarship — Trevor Lovett
  •  Rene Dollar Future Business Leader Scholarship (North Cobb High School) — Oluwatito Omoteso
  •  Mayor Scholarship (KMHS) — Avery Watson
  •  Dr. Frank Boone Community Scholarship (KMHS) — Destiny Kluck
  •  JRM Character Scholarship (KMHS) — Claire Hiett
  •  Mark Barre Visual Arts Scholarship — NeLayna Edwards
  •  Marlon Longacre Heart of a Champion Scholarship — Zari Massay
  •  RJ Patel International Magnet Student Scholarship (North Cobb High School) — Kayleigh Everhart
  •  Ron Cochran Spirit Scholarship — David Hutchins
  •  Sue Picardi Math & Science Magnet Scholarship (KMHS) — Isabelle Day
  •  Olivia Smathers Performing Arts Scholarship — Bailey Cerio
  •  Sue Gunderman Servant Leader Scholarship (KMHS) — Ayusha Prasad
  •  Paul Chastain Citizen Scholarship (North Cobb Christian School) — Nate Watson
  •  Ron Sumpter Trailblazer Scholarship (Harrison) — Michaela Duncan
  •  Michael Everhart Communications Scholarship — Catherine Boff
  •  Terry Chandler Takin’ Care of Business Scholarship — Kendall Grace Wilkes
  •  Derek Easterling Scholarship — Louis-Haslan Dorsinvil
  •  Wally Zimmerman Vocational/Engineering Computer Science Scholarship — Jacob Lee

LGE Community Credit Union – LGE offers a $5,000 scholarship to one deserving student in each of the counties it serves: Bartow, Cherokee, Cobb, Fulton, and Paulding. The application process is rather unique and simple; students need only fill out a brief form online and submit a 60-second video explaining how they align with their community. This year’s recipients will be notified in mid-May. Meanwhile, students interested in applying for next year’s scholarships can learn more at lgeccu.org/about/scholarships.html.

South Cobb Business Association – The SCBA developed its scholarship program five years ago to provide scholarships to students at South Cobb and Pebblebrook high schools. Each year, one student from each school is awarded $500 to assist with their college tuition. This year’s honorees will be notified on May 24. Learn more at sc-ba.org.

The Powder Springs Business Group – The PSBG will award two, $500 scholarships this year to graduating seniors from McEachern and Hill Grove high schools. Candidates must be committed to a Technical College System of Georgia School. Application deadline is May 14. Learn more at psbusinessgroup.com.

Smyrna Business Association – The SBA offers two, annual scholarship programs, which this year were awarded in April. The more general Smyrna Business Association Scholarships were awarded to three graduating high school seniors this year to help pay for their college tuition. Those students are Michael Hermann (Campbell High School), Gisselle Rodriguez (Osborne High School), and Leila Somerville (Campbell High School). The A. Max Bacon Leadership Award is given to a Campbell High School senior who shows outstanding commitment and service to their school and community. This year’s recipient is Taylor Daxe. Learn more at smyrnabusiness.org.

The West Cobb Business Association – The WCBA has offered the When Character Beats Adversity scholarships annually since 2005. The theme is unique in that these scholarships go to students who are facing overwhelming adversity, whether that be life-threating illness, homelessness, or other circumstances; yet, despite the odds, they continue to achieve their academic goals. This year, six students were honored: Stephanie Anokam (McEachern, NeoProcession Scholarship), Trinity Raven Schmuck (Hillgrove, The Chastain Scholarship), Robert Brook (Hillgrove, Byrd Insurance Scholarship), Caroline Dennehy (Harrison, Rod & Heather Bazarsky Scholarship), Anne Dennehy (Harrison, E Dennis AC/Mollohan Real Estate Scholarship), and Fisher Paulsen (Allatoona, Mayes Ward-Dobbins/Professional Partners Scholarship). Funds are raised to support the scholarship program by WCBA members and other sponsors.

Additionally, in 2017, the WCBA adopted a resolution to create the Honorary Diane Vehar Scholarship. Vehar served for many years as director on the WCBA education committee. She is an inspiration in her dedication to the program and the students. This year, Hunter Paulsen from Allatoona High School was honored. Learn more at westcobbbusiness.com.

Congratulations to all of these students for staying focused and maintaining academic excellence during such an unusual and trying year.

Previous articleA ‘Partnership’ for Good
Next articleLibraries Are A ‘Gateway For A High Quality Of Life’