Home Education Supporting Cobb’s Scholars

Supporting Cobb’s Scholars

Shot of a group of cheerful university students on graduation day

Local businesses help students pay for college or vocational school.

By Cory Sekine-Pettite

Local businesses award thousands of dollars in scholarships every year to Cobb County students. Presented here is a condensed list of what’s available from three, local companies. While some of these awards already have been distributed this year, take note for your students who are graduating next year. Also, be sure to consult with your school counselors for additional scholarship opportunities.

Cobb EMC
As a not-for-profit, member-owned cooperative in Georgia, Cobb EMC is dedicated to providing members reliable service at an affordable price. In addition to providing power, the organization also serves the community through multiple charitable endeavors and scholarship programs. Local nonprofits and schools in Cobb EMC’s five-county service area rely on its support, thus the cooperative invests in the neighborhoods where its employees live and work. Through hands-on volunteering, mentoring, food pantry donations, Foundation grants and more, Cobb EMC puts the cooperative principle of “Concern for the Community” into action.

Cobb EMC is equally dedicated to promoting local communities through civic clubs and chambers of commerce. Employees serve in leadership roles and lend their expertise to help these organizations thrive for the good of the communities in which Cobb EMC members live. Plus, it has a team dedicated to energizing large employers and encouraging investment and job growth in our region.

Each year, Cobb EMC provides multiple scholarship opportunities to students in the county. The Cobb EMC Foundation Scholarship, which awards 14 scholarships in the amount of $5,000 each to eligible students with a primary residence served by Cobb EMC. There are two types of scholarships available: College/University and Vocational/Technical College. The annual scholarships are funded and administered by the Cobb EMC Foundation board.

Cobb EMC offers the Walter Harrison Scholarship through Georgia EMC. The $1,000 scholarship honors the late Walter Harrison, a rural electrification pioneer and electric cooperative leader, and is awarded to students who excel in the areas of GPA, SAT scores, academic standing and honors, and who demonstrate a financial need. Cobb EMC forwards five entries to the statewide selection committee, which includes EMC directors and managers from across Georgia.

The Cobb EMC Youth Leadership Program gives current high school juniors the opportunity to develop leadership and networking skills, learn about their electric cooperative, and earn scholarships. Youth Leadership Program students also compete to represent Cobb EMC on the Washington Youth Tour, designed to build leadership skills. The contest offers current high school juniors an opportunity to win a $1,500, $1,000, or $500 scholarship, one of four spots for an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C. from June 14-21, 2024, and one paid student summer internship.

Finally, Cobb EMC soon will be launching the Line Worker Scholarship. Full details on this program and all of Cobb EMC’s scholarship opportunities are available at cobbemc.com/scholarships.

Credit Union of Georgia
In 1960, Credit Union of Georgia, then MaCo Federal Credit Union, and later MACO Educator’s Federal Credit Union, was established by seven local educators of the Marietta City and Cobb County School Systems who wanted to borrow money from one another in a cooperative. The Credit Union began operations with a whopping $35 in assets and a supply closet for a branch office.

Since that time, Credit Union of Georgia has continued to grow and proudly provides financial solutions with value, convenience and exceptional service to the Community of Northwest Georgia. With a long history of partnering with local school systems and serving educators, Credit Union of Georgia has a passion for education and giving back to their local schools.

Credit Union of Georgia encourages members with their hashtag #DoYouCU. Applicants of the Credit Union of Georgia Scholarship should complete an essay of 300 words or less sharing How ­#DoYouCU making a difference? This can apply to your family life, school life, or any other aspect of your life where you see yourself making a difference. For complete application instructions, visit mariettaschoolsfoundation.com/endowments-scholarships/credit-union-of-georgia-scholarship/.

Additionally, Credit Union of Georgia will be offering another scholarship this year (April) in collaboration with the West Cobb Business Association. Learn more at ­westcobbbusiness.com.

LGE Community Credit Union
Since 2010, LGE has invested more than $2 million in the lives of those in the community including children, homeless, abuse victims, and those that fall on hard times. Not only is there a monetary contribution but LGE staff members volunteer over 2,600 hours in the community annually. Additionally, LGE partners with schools through its Partners in Education platform. Continued efforts show why LGE Community Credit Union continues to be a fabric of the community.

LGE’s annual scholarship program helps exceptional high school seniors from our communities attend the college, university, or technical school of their dreams by providing them with a $2,500 scholarship. Scholarships will be awarded in each of the following counties: Bartow, Cherokee, Cobb, Douglas, Floyd, Fulton, Gordon and Paulding County. Applications are open February 26 through March 29, 2024. Complete details and eligibility requirements can be found at LGEccu.org/Scholarship.

SCBA Honors Educators

SCBA honors educators

At its February luncheon, the South Cobb Business Association (SCBA) honored local educators for their commitment to Cobb’s youth. Guest speakers included Austell Mayor Ollie Clemons, Jr.; Powder Springs Mayor Al Thurman; Cobb County School District Post 3 Board Member Leroy Tre´ Hutchins; and Smyrna City Council Member Tim Gould. Learn more southcobbba.org.

List of winners and their awards:
City of Austell Education Award
Dr. Marvin Bynes, Austell Elementary School
Literacy Leader School to retired Principal

City of Mableton Education Award
Cynthia Winters, Riverside Elementary School
Literacy Leader School to retired Principal

City of Powder Springs Award
Regina Montgomery, McEachern High School
STEM Certification

City of Powder Springs Award
Dr. Alvin Thomas, Tapp Middle School
STEM Certification

Innovation Award
Dr. Iris Denise Mcgee, Betty Gray Middle School

Communities in Schools Partnership Award
Troy Jones, Osborne High School

Principal of the Year Award
Dr. Dana Giles, Pebblebrook High School

Education Champion
Nate Smith – Mableton Improvement Coalition

Education Champion
Natalie Rutledge – Communities In Schools of Georgia in Marietta/Cobb County

Education Champion
Henry Lust – The City of Powder Springs Mayor Pro Tem & Council Member

Previous articleDriving Change
Next articleThe Who, What, and Why Behind SafePath Children’s Advocacy Center